Kentucky Uninsured and Underinsured Drivers
Do You Have To Have Auto Insurance In Kentucky?
Yes. Kentucky law requires that “before the owner of a motor vehicle or trailer may operate it or permit its operation upon the highways of this state, he shall obtain motor vehicle insurance… as required by KRS 304.39-080.” As long as a vehicle is registered in Kentucky, it must be insured. If a vehicle is uninsured, the owner must turn in the license plate at the County Clerk’s office. If the owner of the vehicle allows the insurance to lapse, a letter will be mailed to the owner informing them of their obligations and the vehicle will be flagged in Kentucky’s Insurance System. If caught driving, the vehicle owner, or driver, are subject to a fine of $500 to $1000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.
What Is The Minimum Coverage?
The minimum liability coverage in Kentucky is $25,000 for injuries per person involved in an accident, $50,000 total per accident, and $10,000 for property damage per accident.
What Is An Underinsured Driver?
An underinsured driver is a driver that carries the minimum liability coverage.
How Do I recover Damages From An Underinsured or Uninsured Driver?
Kentucky does not require insurance policies to include uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but, if your policy includes such coverage, you can recover damages from your own insurance company.
We Can Guide You Through Your Kentucky Uninsured Driver Case
If you’re ready to talk to a Kentucky Uninsured Driver Lawyer about your case, we encourage you to give us a call or submit a form on our contact page. Consultations are always free and we are always happy to assist you in any way as you move forward with your Kentucky Uninsured Driver case. Our expenses and fees are a reasonable percentage of the settlement or verdict that we obtain for you. If we don’t win your case, you don’t owe us a penny.